2013- A Year With Bitter Sweet Memories – Welcome 2014

We are a a day away from 2013 ending. I am sitting here on  a cold Seattle evening, typing this away. First I want to get basics out of the way

WISH YOU ALL A WONDERFUL AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014

It is true that we moved back to Seattle. It is also true that I am still fully associated the company I founded and work with in India SolutionsIQ Consulting. I am really proud of the team that we have in India, who are some of the best professionals that I have been associated with . I do travel often to India now to spend time with the team. I teach less in India these days, but there is no plan to close anything. We are a growing high energy company and there is still lots to do in India .

The move back from India has been bitter sweet as we have family and close friends and colleagues we had built over the years in India.  At the same time our network of Friends and family in Seattle have shown us so much love as we move back in this city. We have partied quite a bit, kids are happy back here. I really want to take the time to thank my family, and friends both in India and in Seattle who are a big part of what i am today. I got the chance to spend time with my dad and mom this year and feel that I still not much has changed . I remain a kid for them only much bigger and older.

Another big part of the year was crossing the number 40 in age bar, and crossing 90 on weight bar. You tend to really reflect back on life and wonder what you really want to do with the rest of the life in front of me. I wonder sometimes what if i did not move to Milwaukee or what if I did not join, Spider, or what if  I joined the mother ship Microsoft that many do in Seattle. But I am ever so delighted that i am doing what I am passionate about, build a business,work with sharp teams and have fun. My wife has been like a rock supporting me all along the way with the decisions and helping me do what i am passionate about. Without her this much may not have been possible.

I do have a lot planned on the business front that I hope to do in 2014 . Scale, Stability and More fun are what I can think of when i think of work.I am confident that with all the hard work we are putting in the company we are building will do well . when you work with good people, generally there is a lot less to worry about.

This year to me was really about Atul Chitnis, a  person you meet only once in a lifetime, a great human, family person, technologist and much more. To me he was just Atul the neighbor next door.

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
Now there’s a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
You were caught on the crossfire of childhood and stardom,
blown on the steel breeze.
Come on you target for faraway laughter,
come on you stranger, you legend, you martyr, and shine!
You reached for the secret too soon, you cried for the moon.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
Threatened by shadows at night, and exposed in the light.
Shine on you crazy diamond.
Well you wore out your welcome with random precision,
rode on the steel breeze.
Come on you raver, you seer of visions,
come on you painter, you piper, you prisoner, and shine!

ATUL CHITNIS

This year to me was really about losing Atul  I am not sure if I have recovered from this yet. Atul Gopal Chitnis was  my brother in law, friend, a mentor for life. He was not only a role model for me growing up, but has been a big part of my life since 1990. Yes more than 20 years.  We lost Atul this year after a year long battle he had with colon cancer. He fought like anything else he did so many years. I am so glad he got to do what he wanted the last few months of his life. He spent time with the family. He was a people person. I think he had a checklist of people he wanted to meet before he died, and he did make sure he met every one of them. I am thankful to all who shared their wonderful life with him. From the medical staff who attended on him to all his friends and family, I am sure his thought has crossed us more than once since that sad day in June this year. But what makes me delighted is that i got to spend such a wonderful time with him. All the arguments and discussions with him always left you thinking.. There is not a day when i do not think or ask the question -“What would Atul have done or said” esp when it comes to things on the internet and technology. I do not have the guts to delete his skype profile form my list. Just hoping some day i may still hear a “Ping” from him.

I know for the world  he is technology person but for me he is just Toolz. The one I could tell anything and knowing well I will lose the argument anyway.

I can write pages about him , have thousands of reasons to thank him, but I will end with a simple thanks – Thanks Atul for becoming our neighbor in 1989 and helping me meet my wife Arati”. If she had not come on that summer vacation to your house, I would not be where I am today, wife , two kids and so many rich memories to thank for.This is to you Atul, I know you are out there wishing us all a very happy new year .

Just before Christmas we lost my wifes uncle. Jaya Kaka. This is part of what Arati my wife had to say about” Jaya Kaka – Nobody can replace you. May your soul rest in peace. You have left behind a legacy of proud family members along with your message of duty and protection. You taught us what the word “Family” means. Thank you for holding us all together.” I got to spend a good chunk of time in India with him. I really feel good that I did get to spend time a person who was such an important pillar in Arati’s life

As life goes – It is a bit bitter and sweet all the time. I look forward to coming year 2014 for brighter and bigger things for me, my family and company. I am blessed to be surrounded with the best bunch of family and friends.  I also wish all my  family and friends a Happy and prosperous New Year 2014.

Cheers

Vibhu

Leave a comment